Initial members were appointed in March to represent the legislative and executive branches. These members were appointed to conduct stakeholder meetings and gather public input. In June, Gov. Daugaard appointed additional members to represent stakeholder groups such as teachers, parents, and administrators. The full task force will meet throughout the summer and make recommendations in the fall.

Sen. Deb Soholt, Sioux Falls - Task-Force co-chair
Rep. Jacqueline Sly, Rapid City - Task-Force co-chair
Sen. Corey Brown, Gettysburg
Sen. Troy Heinert, Mission
Sen. Billie Sutton, Burke
Sen. Craig Tieszen, Rapid City
Rep. Justin Cronin, Gettysburg
Rep. Paula Hawks, Hartford
Rep. Mark Mickelson, Sioux Falls
Rep. Steve Westra, Sioux Falls
Dr. Melody Schopp, SD Secretary of Education
Tony Venhuizen, Chief of Staff to Gov. Daugaard
Jason Dilges, SD Commissioner of Finance and Management

Dave Davis, Rapid City -- member of the Rapid City Area School District Board of Education
Dr. Becky Guffin, Aberdeen -- superintendent of Aberdeen School District
Vicki Harmdierks, Mitchell -- principal of Gertie Belle Rogers Elementary School
LuAnn Lindskov, Timber Lake -- math and science teacher at Timber Lake High School and 2013 SD Teacher of the Year
Dr. Brian Maher, Sioux Falls -- incoming superintendent of Sioux Falls School District
DeLon Mork, Madison
Steven O'Brien, Watertown -- English teacher at Watertown High School
Erik Person, Burke -- superintendent of Burke School District
Beth Pietila, Yankton
Dr. Michael Rush, Pierre -- incoming executive director of SD Board of Regents
Jim Scull, Rapid City
Eric Stroeder, Mobridge -- member of Mobridge School District Board of Education and incoming president of Associated School Boards of South Dakota
Kevin Tetzlaff, Brookings